"If You’re Like Me, You’re Probably Reading The Credits Right Now…"

10 Feb

I bought a CD today.

Anybody who knows me well can attest to how strange the last sentence sounds coming from me. For the past three years, I’ve received most of my music for free – whether it be from labels sending me music that they want my feedback on, labels and publicists just sending me music because I’m on their mailing lists, publications sending me albums to review, unsigned artists giving me their music asking me to put them on, or my astute downloading prowess. I’m not exactly poverty-stricken, but since I don’t have a lot of extra money, and since I do have a lot of resources, and since I operate strictly off my Dell DJ 20gb mp3 player, I don’t buy music. The last time I bought music, it was two albums at once: Royce Da 5’9″‘s Death Is Certain and Jay-Z’s The Black Album. Both albums had a lot of personal significance to me: Royce Da 5’9″ is one of my favorite artists, and Death Is Certain marked his comeback, while The Black Album was supposedly Jay-Z’s swan song, and I’ve been a die-hard fan of him for years.

But today, I went to Schuler’s and copped J Dilla’s Donuts. I had already gotten an advance copy of the album via the Internet (good lookin out Khrysis!), and I was bumping that like it was my job. But there were drops on the tracks (for the uninformed, “drops” are random talking and sound effects littered amongst the songs to help discourage bootlegging), and I respect J Dilla (aka Jay Dee) more than any other producer in hip-hop. Plus, I’m getting a CD player put in my car Monday, and it may take a while for me to get the hookup/equipment to play my mp3 player in there; I had to get a quality CD to be able to bump while travelling to and fro.

While I’m a big supporter for downloading and file sharing, I’ve realized that they have devalued music for me. Nowadays, checking my appopriate downloading web sites and file sharing programs is part of my daily routine; I reguarly burn CDs that I end up rarely or never listening to. The music is free, so besides the music interesting me enough to make me download it in the first place, I don’t have any real reason to listen to it. My C Drive is littered with music that I downloaded for the sake of fan dedication and rarity, and my mp3 player is full of music that I put on there, kidding myself, “hey, I’ll end up listening to it eventually.”

We all know the advantages of downloading music for free, but there are advantages to buying the CD, too. I have a new addition to my substantial collection of original albums, and even though this album doesn’t have a lot of them, having the linear notes of the album is always a plus. I feel like I really contributed to J Dilla by buying the album (it’s on the indie Stones Throw Records, not a major label where he won’t see any of the profits), and I’m a big supporter of his music. Most of all, it’s a product that I bought, so I’m going to feel an obligation to get the most out of my purchase. I’m going to play that CD until it skips – after that, I’ll just play my mp3 player (lol).

I’m giddy as hell since I bought this album a few hours ago. Even though I’ll probably get a free copy of it in the mail in a few weeks, I’m still proud of spending my cash on the record. I’m out – bout to clean my room and get my money’s worth.

EZ

4 Responses to “"If You’re Like Me, You’re Probably Reading The Credits Right Now…"”

  1. KLC February 10, 2006 at 6:10 am #

    Look at you! Reppin’ D-town music. I like dat!

  2. M-Dubb February 21, 2006 at 1:36 am #

    Music.

    Makes the people.

    Come together.

    Yeah.

    I buy it sometimes, too.

  3. dscott February 21, 2006 at 3:20 am #

    I download a ton. Get a ton for free. Buy my favorites.

    That said, if you have an ideal audio system, you want CD quality audio. Most of the shit downloaded from the net is really, really low quality and sounds horrible on hi-fi systems (and headphones).

    That is why I, occasionally, purchase CD’s. For the simple reason that I love bumpin’ my favorite music extremely loud and don’t want it to sound fucked up.

    Last album I purchased: Tha Carter 2

    -d.

  4. Anonymous April 17, 2006 at 1:28 am #

    Death is Certain by Royce and Donuts=two must haves for any hip hop collection

Leave a Reply

