Bun B Interview

17 Jun

First off, I’d like to thank everyone that rolled out to the MichiganHipHop.com Launch Party this weekend. It was an incredible success, and trust me when I say we’re just gettin’ started. Any ideas, questions, etc. that you have for MiHH, e-mail me at william(at)michiganhiphop.com.

Back to today’s business.

Monday, I got a Bun B interview posted on HipHopDX. This interview got me an e-mail from the best editor in the biz, Jake Paine (aka “Jake The Great,” lmao @ Emina). Homie said, and I quote, “You brought something different to the table. I didn’t realize it at the time, but this is a pivotal interview on his acceptance of the new class and adaptability. … Kudos to you, and so very happy to have you on the team man; part of the reason I take so much pride in this staff.” Ill.

Excerpt:

DX: Lupe has talked about how you showed up in the video of “Hip Hop Saved My Life,” and how you had taken him on a tour of Houston when he visited. What made you decide to do that?
BB:
I pretty much do [that with] most artists like that when they come to Houston, I try to let them see the city in a right way and give them a proper tour. You hear different things and there’s certain stuff on TV about Houston, and I wanted them to see. I wanted them to go to 5th Ward, I wanted them to go to 3rd Ward, I wanted them to go to South Park in the southwest side of Houston. There are things that I felt you need to see when you come to Houston.

DX: Do you think that that’s something that’s missing between the older generation and the new one?
BB:
I think so, to a certain extent. It was the way that I was brought in. I was blessed to have people like J Prince and Scarface [click to read], and the Too Short’s of the world embrace me and give me a couple of pointers. I’m just doing what I kind of feel is my obligation in this music industry. There’s not unity and loyalty in this game right now, and that’s why it’s falling apart. Everybody’s looking for self.

For more, check the entire piece: http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/features/id.1148/title./p.all

-Ketch

Leave a Reply

