The Madness Behind Maestro and Clipse Presents Re-Up Gang

12 Aug

So maybe there’s a reason that the new Clipse Presents Re-Up Gang album is so bad, after all.

Rumors circulated that the group had actually linked up with some solid producers while initially recording the album. But the label wasn’t willing to pay top dollar for the soundbeds that were already crafted, so all of the disc’s acapellas were handed over to production group Sleepwalkers, who went on to mollify their lyrics with subpar offerings. While this would make perfect sense to anyone who has heard the album, I still didn’t have any verification to such rumors.

But an AIM conversation with homie/HipHopDX Producer’s Corner alumnus Maestro (Lil Wayne’s “3 Peat,” “Kush,” etc., amongst other songs) was particularly enlightening. He’s related to someone who works with the group, and he said that he was given the original We Got It For Cheap Vol. 3 sessions to swap in his beats for the originals. But he declined to work on the project after understanding the approach they were taking and seeing the paltry budget it had.

“Once I heard the whole shit was remixes, I backed away. I didn’t wanna disappoint the real Clipse fans who were in love with the original joints,” he admits. “I was fresh off three big checks from Wayne and the album release, and I was feeling myself. And they came waving very, very short dollars.”

He maintains that the budget for the album was so low that it was all but destined to turn out the way it did. “Not saying that there aren’t dope cats who don’t charge, but they didn’t have access to them,” he says. While he’s uncertain how many others were offered the gig after he was, the result is clear: one of rap’s most consistent, talented groups releasing what’s arguably the most surprisingly disappointing album of the year.

The album’s iTunes bonus track, “Zen,” is produced by Maestro, though. He did this song way after he was approached to do the album, after having a slight change of heart about the project after seeing the hype it had.

“The fans wanted [the album] bad, and all the shit I had in the pipeline was months away, so I needed something to keep my name out,” Maestro admits. He did the beat in 30 minutes and sent it in, but it was too late to make the physical CD release. “I had already fucked off the whole joint, and the official Sony release is still months away too, so I had to have something new hit the streets. I had other hot Weezy shit I could’ve leaked out, but I figured I’d hold on to that, and do a Clipse joint, because I had already been mentioning it in press, and I had to make good on my word.”

Maestro says that he and his relative actually fell out a bit because of the album situation, and that he regrets not taking advantage of the opportunity.

“He knew it would be a great look and a super lead-up to my joint on the Clipse album” he says. “But I admit, I dropped the ball, caught up in the Weezy hype. … I had heat and full creative control, but I allowed the business to get in the way of my art. It’ll never happen again, though.”

P.S.: Check out Maestro’s blog here. Dude has some interesting stuff on there, whether it’s his own studio experiences or general blogger banter. Also, a must-visit for aspiring producers – they can buy kits of his most popular beats and study them to step their own game up.

Bonus:

Another last minute song that Maestro did for the Re-Up Gang album featured Joss Stone. However, it didn’t make the album because they couldn’t clear Stone’s appearance on the track. UPDATE: Here’s an unmixed version of the song (download here). Hopefully the finished version, which Maestro says has live bass, will see the light of day.

13 Responses to “The Madness Behind Maestro and Clipse Presents Re-Up Gang”

  1. J.D. August 12, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    cant wait for you to drop that track! good read

  2. Starr August 12, 2008 at 3:16 pm #

    Interesting insight.

  3. Korey August 12, 2008 at 6:23 pm #

    NO WONDER

  4. Bayan August 15, 2008 at 4:38 am #

    noticed there was no bass in Celebrate, beat is tight nevertheless

  5. Evolggenius513 August 15, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    i was surprised they even made a video foe the song “fast life”.

    check this remix i got though:

    http://sharebee.com/0d13d1dc

  6. tone August 25, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    fuck this album!!! fuck the clipse for dropping the ball!! fake ass ceo’s, re-up gang is over!! the anchor SANDMAN left the group & label behind the clipse poor choices as ceo’s!! Download SANDMAN’S new solo album GIANORMOUS FOR FREE @ http://www.yeahhhcannons.com!! IT’S A MUST HAVE A DEFINIT CLASSIC!!!

  7. Alex August 30, 2008 at 1:51 am #

    Given my adoration of anything with Clipse ties, this was probably the most disappointing album of ’08 for me. You can get more of my thoughts from my blog on the matter, but I can’t relay the horror that slowly moved through me, as I realized track-by-track that I was basically listening to We Got It 4 Cheap Vol. 3 with lame production.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Re-Up Gang - Celebrate f. Joss Stone (prod. Maestro) « 2dopeboyz - August 12, 2008

    […] clear Joss Stone’s vocals. And for those disapointed Re-Up album fans, be sure to check Speech is My Hammer for some interesting details that hopefully will calm your nerves. Ease […]

  2. Clipse - Celebrate f. Joss Stone (prod. Maestro) « 2dopeboyz - August 12, 2008

    […] clear Joss Stone’s vocals. And for those disapointed Re-Up album fans, be sure to check Speech is My Hammer for some interesting details that hopefully will calm your nerves. Ease […]

  3. Celebrate (Ft. Joss Stone) (Prod. Maestro) - The Clipse « HipHopGremlins - August 12, 2008

    […] being unable to clear the Joss Stone vocals. Shout out to William of Speech Is My Hammer. Check out his blog to find out some of the fuckery as to why the Re-Up Gang album is so.. erm… […]

  4. Here's The Rundown As To Why Clipse/Re-Up Gang's Album Sucked! - Rap GodFathers Community - August 12, 2008

    […] The Rundown As To Why Clipse/Re-Up Gang’s Album Sucked! The Madness Behind Maestro and Clipse Presents Re-Up Gang Speech Is My Hammer — So maybe theres a reason that the new Clipse Presents Re-Up Gang album is so bad, after all. […]

  5. First Listen: Termanology x Ice Cube x The Game « Speech Is My Hammer… - August 15, 2008

    […] off, thanks to Maestro, Shake, Eskay, and everyone else who linked to my exclusive. Over 1,200 hits in a day is huge for me, so thanks a lot for the […]

  6. The Clipse - Celebrate f. Joss Stone [Re-Up Gang] | Yung Drew's Hip-Hop Music - August 19, 2008

    […] cool.  I always like hearing new ish from Malice and Pusha T… Anyways, this track was found here where you can read the full story behind the track if ya wanna.  I definitely expected better out […]

Leave a Reply

