Ketch-Up 9-29-08 – Disappointing Politicians x Disappointing Emcees

29 Sep

Pardon my Paul Wall, but I’ve got the Internet goin’ nuts. And that’s not even talkin’ about the NahRight love. Check all the articles I’ve got out there right now:

Separating Rap From Truth [Metro Times]

This article got a phone call from pops dukes, so I’m already proud of it. In this article, I chop it up with hip-hop figures in Detroit about the rise and fall of recently-resigned and imprisoned “Hip-Hop Mayor” Kwame Kilpatrick. They recount what made them support homie initially, how the affiliation with hip-hop hurt and/or helped both parties, and how this year’s bullshit will affect things later on. Leave a comment there and say what you think! | Metro Times
Lowered Expectations: Hip-Hop’s Five Most Disappointing Emcees [HipHopDX]

I’ve got a series going on HipHopDX’s Speech Is My Hammer, in which I highlight my five most disappointing emcees in hip-hop history. Doing a countdown from the bottom up, Fabolous was my first victim. My latest inclusion on the list is Canibus (hence, why he’s flipping me the bird in the photo above). Let me know what you think: click the photo or click here. The rest of the list is on its way, and trust, no one is going to see these three coming.
Termanology: How It All Went Down [HipHopDX]

Meet the persistent emcee that has the production lineup of Illmatic and others, with an old soul swagger to match. I already reviewed his album, Politics As Usual, here over a month ago, and here, you’ll get to know him a little bit. Here, he gives a behind-the-scenes look behind his soon-to-be-classic debut.| HipHopDX
DJ Green Lantern: Producer’s Corner [HipHopDX]

In the latest installment of HipHopDX’s Producer’s Corner, I chop it up with DJ Green Lantern about making the transition from mixtape hosting to knob twisting (pause), DJing for Nas and Eminem, and upcoming projects with Jay Electronica and dead prez. On a related note, Nas and Green Lantern performed at Michigan State Univ. last week at a free concert. Even though me and cohost JYoung didn’t get the interview that we were supposed to, shit was fly. | HipHopDX

I’ve also got a lot of music to run through this week. I’ll post short synopsi of those tomorrow, so check back for those. It’ll be a bunch of music that you won’t be able to listen to yet since it doesn’t hit stores/the Internet for a while, but you can trust my ear, right?

-Ketch

One Response to “Ketch-Up 9-29-08 – Disappointing Politicians x Disappointing Emcees”

  1. Smack! September 29, 2008 at 9:07 pm #

    Bro, funny story – Kwame lives in the apartment building we stay in.

Leave a Reply

