Which New Blackberry – Storm or Bold?

10 Nov

So I’ve applied to several new jobs, and I’ve got a hunch that I’m going to have a new position really soon. Once I get that new gig, one of my first orders of business is going to be copping a new phone. Despite my ObamaBerry getting traction and me and my 8800 having some nice times together, it’s time to face reality: T-Mobile blows. I’m paying way too much with them per month, and I’m not going to change to a lower service plan just to have add another year or two to their shitty service. So once I knock out some financial necessities with my new gig, the first thing I splurge on is going to be a new mobile device. Everybody knows that I’m a Blackberry head because of their e-mail reliability and my familiarity with their UI. And right now, there are two exciting new joints that are catching my attention: the Blackberry Bold and the Blackberry Storm. The only question is which one to cop?

I’ve put together summaries of each one. Check them out after the jump.

Blackberry Storm

The Blackberry Storm is the beauty choice. It’s primarily known for its beautiful touch screen/keyboard, which apparently clicks back whenever a letter on it is typed, to help simulate a real keyboard. It also has a 3.2 megapixel camera that takes photos and records video, along with the media player/GPS/maps specs that are somewhat standard with the new crop of Blackberrys. But one of the bests part about this is that it’s on Verizon Wireless; while I left Verizon a few years ago to spend less money with T-Mobile, I realized that Verizon’s higher-priced plans are usually worth it because of the incredible reception it has. Plus, since I have Skype now, I can get a lower plan from the jump.
Pros: Fly factor, Verizon network’s reception, dope camera, stereo headset capable
Cons: No wi-fi, Verizon network’s costly plans, might be more expensive offtop since it’ll likely be fresh from the racks when I’m looking to get it
Blackberry Storm Website

Blackberry Bold

The Blackberry Bold is the new Blackberry on AT&T. It was delayed for a long, long time, but it’s a heater nonetheless. Since it’s not touchscreen and it has a keyboard with real buttons, It would be more familiar, in terms of form factor/shape, than the Blackberry Storm. Plus, it’s on AT&T, which I believe has cheaper plans than Verizon but still has decent service. This one also has a camera that photographs and records, but it’s only 2.0 megapixels. But this Blackberry does have Wi-Fi, which can be very useful these days. I’m not sure which of these two Blackberrys is 3G-compatible, but that’d be a potential deal-breaker too.
Pros: Familiar body, Wi-Fi, potentially cheaper plan with AT&T, will be cheaper than the Storm when I’m ready to cop
Cons: Lower quality camera, doesn’t have Verizon’s service, not as fly as the Storm
Blackberry Bold Website

So, what do you guys think? Storm or Bold?

4 Responses to “Which New Blackberry – Storm or Bold?”

  1. T Williams November 10, 2008 at 11:15 pm #

    Im getting to be a Blackberry head myself ever since I copped my Pearl back in Feb. I have been paying more attention to the Storm lately because when I first saw it, they said the Bold was only available in Canada. Pretty much, choice comes down to the fly factor. The Bold, except for the camera, is probably gonna be easier to use, a bit more useful with the Wi-Fi, and both phone and plan will be cheaper with AT&T. Plus you’re not gonna be losing too much as far as network quality goes by choosing AT&T over VZW. The Bold though, is just dope all around. Touchscreen, 3.2 megapixel camera, and if I read correctly it works on more networks outside the US than just about any other phone on the market. But, its gonna be more expensive to buy and maintain.
    I was seriously considering the Storm but now that I know the Bold is here, I might have to go that route.

  2. Hubert / Brother G.A.M. November 11, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    I am thinking that if you’re using your Blackberry for business purposes, you need to go ahead and cop the Bold. I’m all for the razzle-dazzle, but at the end of the day, I need a workhorse. I also have to look at cost. In the long run, I’d rather have use the wi-fi on the phone, because I got internet at the crib. I really do not need to have internet on my phone. There are enough Starbuck’s – which gives AT&T customers free wi-fi anyway – all over the planet that I am sure I will never be without a connection if I really need to find one.

    So yeah… when I get a new gig, I too will be getting a Blackberry Bold. I don’t know if I will keep my VZW phone or not. I love Verizon, but it may not be practical.

  3. chris December 12, 2008 at 3:31 pm #

    Don’t get the storm, i had it three weeks and it drove me mad. Stay with the bold. its much better.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Blackberry Curve 8900 « Speech Is My Hammer… - December 16, 2008

    […] some of you know, I’m Skype’in and emailing it right now; but I’ve been on the prowl for a new Blackberry for a while now. While former boss Langston is loving the Blackberry Storm […]

Leave a Reply

