Pharrell x Men’s Style (Video)

3 Jan

My homegirl Talitha posted this video on her Facebook profile a while ago, but I loved it so much that I figured I’d dig it up and post it on my own. But the reason that I like this video so much is that I respect the way that he approaches the enhancement of his appreciation for art, gadgets, etc. I don’t know if he donates to a lot of charities or causes, but if you’re not going to do that, then I feel that this is the way to be materialistic: invest in things that you love, with a flair for making it your own while still respecting what attracted it to you in the first place.

By the way, is it just me, or is Pharrell one of the more underrated hip-hop moguls? He and the Neptunes’ Star Trak label (had to hyperlink it because it’s one of the best web sites I’ve seen in a while) didn’t pop off the way that Roc-A-Fella did at its peak, but they’ve still had their share of quality releases with albums from Slim Thug, Clipse, Kenna and Robin Thicke, and their freshly-signed duo Chester French seems interesting). And BBC/Ice Cream isn’t as revered as Diddy’s Sean John label, but it’s still got its cult following, both nationally and internationally; and Pharrell is still rubbing shoulders with Nigo, whose A Bathing Ape company is one of the most influential streewear companies ever. And P also recently started a site for burgeoning artists to showcase and share their material (if anyone knows the link, leave it in a comment). It always seems like as far as artist/moguls go, peoples’ perspectives always stop after Diddy and Jay-Z. But Pharrell’s just as versatile, and I respect him for it.

EDIT: I just realized that JP, co-owner/head designer of Identical Variant, recently made a post about Pharrell as well. Great minds think alike.

Leave a Reply

