Baatin.

13 Aug

I’m notorious for this. The impact of legendary artists’ deaths always hits me really late. I remember I was pursuing an interview with J Dilla, and I bought Donuts from my local Borders the day before he passed away. I remember chopping it up with Khrysis when the advance of the album had leaked a few weeks earlier, and he was clowning me for being from MI but not having a copy.

When Proof died, I never got emo about it, but it was definitely weird knowing a rapper I had met – albeit in passing at The Shelter – was gone. Same thing with Gerald Levert; I interviewed this dude on the phone, and it was candid as hell – we were clowning about new R&B cats, and talking about how real music is. Now, he’s gone.

When Michael Jackson died recently, it didn’t hit me until about 5 days afterward. I was at Whites Bar in Saginaw, Mich., when DJ Snakes played a crazy MJ tribute. Hearing this dude’s string of hits while thinking of the context – he suffered his entire life, to provide music for people like me – was overwhelming. One of the first times I got teary-eyed over someone I didn’t know personally.

I was really down the day that Baatin died, but I got better days after. But tonight, again at Whites Bar, hearing old Slum Village songs got me open. It’s AMAZING how stylistic this dude’s music was – the way he merged with instrumentals and manipulated his voice was unparalleled. Fantastic Vol. 1 and 2 are both flawless, and don’t think Dilla was the only one to make it that way. Baatin’s personality and flow was a huge part of that, and hearing such a vibrant character on wax in retrospect makes me realize how blessed we really were to have him.

Rest In Beats, ‘Tin.

One Response to “Baatin.”

  1. Snakes August 19, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    Thanks for the love! Can’t wait for the P.H.I.L.T.H.Y. show.

Leave a Reply

