Mos Def On Love.

24 Sep

rapper__mosdef_l

As if his song “Love” from Black On Both Sides wasn’t enough, Mos Def takes a more abstract approach in ’09.

If you are to fall in love
Then where should you stand to begin with?
And when the falling’s done
How bad should you plan to get injured?
And if you land on your feet
Do it count as a fall or a jump?
And do it feel like a fall
When the hands that pushed you were holding you up?
Close encounter, got you wide open
Heartache got your boom-box going
Music and vocals, lonely and soulful
You’re back in the scene where your sweet dreams so true

Mos Def, “Pistola,” The Ecstatic (2009) (via OHHLA)

The above quote literally describes exactly how I’ve felt for the past week or so. Between songs like this and “Life In Marvelous Times,” I’m seriously starting to think that Mos Def is the best rapper alive. I gave The Ecstatic 3.5 stars out of 5 in my polarizing HipHopDX review, I later decided I should have given it 4, and now I’m prompted to eat my words even more. The review was pretty on point, but the score was off-base, and I definitely unappreciated the high points.

2 Responses to “Mos Def On Love.”

  1. Fan. September 25, 2009 at 5:42 am #

    I wanna have your baby, Will!!! That’s all I know after reading this.

    Sure do.

  2. bananaclipse September 27, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    The Ecstatic is without a doubt my fav release this year. i personally give it a 4.5/5. bias or not. its my ish!

Leave a Reply

