Gadget Buyers: Cop What You Like, Not What’s “Hot”

22 Oct

The world of technology is great to run along with as far as staying up to date, but it’s impossible to keep up with financially. Unless you’ve got stacks on deck ©T.I., you’ll have empty pockets if you cop the latest gadget every time it comes out. So when you’re buying something like a cell phone, a computer, or a digital camera, cop what you believe will be the best fit for your needs. This is something I’ve known for a while, but I had to remind myself about it upon the release of the new Blackberry Bold 9700, pictured on the right above and described in the video below.

I got my Blackberry Bold several 9000 months back, with a brand new contract with AT&T. This new Bold 9700, according to BlackberryCool.com, boasts a more compact form factor, a better display (20 more pixels in its color description), a better camera (3.2 megapixels), and better battery life than my device.

But after thinking for a while, I realized several things. I like the bigger form factor – it’s easier to type on with my big hands. And aside from using it to cover a concert once, all I use my camera for is to send women naughty photos – and what I send them translates just fine on 2 megapixels, lol. Otherwise, I’ll use my Sony digital camera to take important shots. A better screen would be nice, but it’s not like I watch videos on my Blackberry anyway – I have a Zune for that. And most of all, I got a deal on my phone: due to a promotion that came with my new AT&T contract, I got my Blackberry Bold for the exceptional price of $Free.99. So as far as I’m concerned, the main thing I’m notably missing out on is better battery life. And that sucks, but hey – that’s what car chargers are for.

And even if I’m missing any better specs that the 9700 has, I’m happy with what I have. Until I get to the point where I’m really making paper, I can’t afford to wildly cop everything that I like just yet. So in the meantime, I’ll invest in something that’ll keep me content for a while – and that’s what I’ve done with my device.

Any of you guys got products you stick with through thick and thin? Have any similar stories about a new product coming out right after you buy something else?

2 Responses to “Gadget Buyers: Cop What You Like, Not What’s “Hot””

  1. bananaclipse October 22, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    without my connects. I wouldn’t have got the iphone gen 1. or the iphone 3g. I’m cool on the 3gs unless I jackmode(i know no one says this anymore) someone.

  2. aspman October 22, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

    Thanks for the words of wisdom.I sold every phone I had to get the Tour. I find myself wanting my 8703e back.Yea I know the tour is suppposed to be light years ahead of any older BB,but the 8703e has a better keyboard better battery life and the most important thing the damn phone worked incredibly.I just bought another 8703e on ebay. I’m done with upgrading for the sake of upgrading.

Leave a Reply

