Success + Challenges = Progress.

18 Jun

Throughout my professional career, success and challenges have been equally important to me. Challenges give me something to strive toward, but success lets me know that I’m doing something right. Matter of fact, I think that’s my personal new definition of “progress”: success + challenge. It’s something I’ve come up with through my incredible group of colleagues: Kelley L. Carter, Marcus Troy, Meka Udoh, Marcel Friday, Arasia Graham, and others have found a way to get both of these, and it’s how I can tell they’re moving forward.

Less than two hours ago, I interviewed one of my idols, Pharrell Williams, as a part of N.E.R.D. for HipHopDX. About minutes ago, I received an email asking me to write my fourth article for AOL Black Voices’ new site, theBVX.com, about technology – a field I’ve never covered professionally before now. And I’m typing on my Blackberry as we speak, half an hour away from counseling/mentoring juvenile delinquents to help them change their lives. And I’m co-A&Ring my second project with one of the most respected brands in street music.

Success.

But I can still become a better manager for my artists, JYoung The General and p2dahi. My editor for theBVX.com is pushing me to work on innovative ideas instead of normal humdrum tech stories. My dude Meka is speaking on blogging panels and getting featured in The Source magazine (HE’S getting interviewed, not the other way around), he has a column on XXL’s web site, AND he’s DJing. Marcus Troy is a true tastemaker, covering events and what he loves while traveling around the world. And Kelley Carter is freelancing her ASS off right now for goto publications. I want to do everything these cats are doing.

Challenge.

Thanks to those who have helped or supported my succeess and even more thanks to those who keep pushing me. I won’t let you down.

-William

2 Responses to “Success + Challenges = Progress.”

  1. Alex June 18, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Congrats. As you know, I can relate to your push to becoming not just a more recognized writer, but a constantly improving one, too. Getting to write about new topics in unfamiliar capacities can facilitate both. Good luck, man, and keep on pushing.

  2. alex hall July 20, 2010 at 2:59 am #

    “At age 4 success is not peeing in your pants. “

Leave a Reply

